A labeling marathon

Recently I decided to take some of my “spare” quilts to a friend to sell in her shop.  I had originally intended to put them on etsy, and I still might list some in the future, or list these if they don’t sell, but I thought I’d give this a try first.  It’s less computer work for me, which is always a  good thing!

Anyhow, I decided my quilts needed some labels.  I already had some printed from the label I made here, so I cut them out, framed them with some scrap fabric that matched each quilt, and sewed them on by hand.  It took me about an hour and a half, but they look quite cute, I think.

A couple of these quilts are upcoming shower gifts, so I won’t be selling all of these, but regardless, I think the labels look much more professional than my normal sharpie labels and/or signing in the quilting.

I’m considering having some woven tag/labels made.  There are several shops on etsy that sell them.  I would have to spend around $100, so I want to make sure I have the name/design exactly right.  That would buy hundreds of labels, so it’s close to a one-time investment.  For now, though, at least I have the option of printing my labels.

The only thing I don’t like about these labels– you can’t personalize them if you pre-print them.  There’s no date and no personal message to the recipient if it’s a gift.  In retrospect, I could have added a “2012,” which would have lasted the whole year.  I might do that if I print some up again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

