Ruby Mosaic Quilt

     

I absolutely fell in love with this quilt from Moda Bake Shop.  In fact, this was the first quilt I made after discovering designer quilt fabric.  Yes, until quite recently I lived in the limited world of Joann’s.  Boy have my eyes been opened since then!

Anyhow, I almost always make some sort of change to a pattern when I actually make it, but I loved this one so much that I followed exactly, right down to the borders and fabric.  I made one for myself, and I was so happy with the way it turned out that I took it home at Thanksgiving to show my mom.  She and my mother-in-law couldn’t stop talking about it, so I decided to make them both one for Christmas.  However, by that point, I had trouble ordering more of the backing fabric.  I later found a couple fairly local stores that had Ruby in stock, but i didn’t know it at the time.  So, I gave my mom the one I already had made and made my mother-in-law a new one with a white back instead of a printed one. 

I wound up with some extra scraps from those two, which was enough to make myself a larger bed-sized version.  It’s only a full-size quilt, but that’s great because I plan to use it on our sofa bed in our parlor, and we have some red on our walls, so it picks up the red print fabric really well.  I’m still so in love with this fabric that I’m hoarding my scraps, and I just may break down and buy another layer cake or fat quarter bundle.  It’s the perfect mix of shabby-chic and vintage.  It would look fabulous in a little girl’s room.

     

For the quilting, I used a meandering stipple pattern with little flowers every few inches.  I thought the flowers made it a little more interesting and picked up on the girly patterns and flowers in the fabric.

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment